Photo by Deena Englard on Unsplash

Please Can The Public Sector Prove My ID Once … And Get On With It …

Please can I have my identity back, and stop asking me to prove it?

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE
5 min readOct 1, 2021

--

Our Blockpass ID Lab focuses on identity, and where we look at citizen privacy and how citizens can gain access to services in a trusted way. In our current research work, we are integrating cryptography methods that support citizens gaining trusted credentials once, and then using them many times. We hope to break down data silos, and support the free movement of citizens across our borders.

Stuck in the 20th Century

Today I tried to register for the Scottish NHS Vaccination Status App, and I just wasted my time. As far as I can see, I couldn’t use the existing ID that I have used for my “unsecured” PDF verification and was now faced with a new verification system. Personally, I really don’t understand why I keep having to prove my identity to so many government and health care services. A while back I registered for Yoti to prove my ID, and it guided me through the process and kept me up-to-date on everything I needed. I could then keep all my trusted ID proofs within the App, and could then log in to a Scottish Government service using my App. It was a great experience. So, why hasn’t this approach been scaled — along with other trusted identity…

--

--

Prof Bill Buchanan OBE FRSE

Professor of Cryptography. Serial innovator. Believer in fairness, justice & freedom. Based in Edinburgh. Old World Breaker. New World Creator. Building trust.